top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaihehau Goo

Night Train

Only do this if the flights cost $550 AUD


Only do this if the flights cost $550 AUD


After the Formula 1 race in Melbourne, flights back to Sydney were extremely expensive. With tickets at or above $400 USD, I took the night train from Melbourne to Sydney. Since all the sleeper cars were purchased, I purchased a first class ticket. For an extra $12 USD, I got an extra foot of leg room and my seat reclined further. With a first class ticket I was also able to check in two bags.


I arrived at Melbourne’s Southern Cross Station 90 minutes before my train departed. This gave me just enough time to check my bags in and buy food. Inside Southern Cross Station there is a grocery store and restaurant. There I ordered dinner and purchased snacks for the trip. This is important because food won’t be served until the next morning.


I boarded the train 15 mi

nutes before departure, and it left right on schedule. We stopped twice within the city limits before heading into New South Wales.


The train conductor woke us over the loudspeaker the next morning, informing us that we were 1 hour outside Sydney. Breakfast was being prepared. This is included with the price of a sleeper car, but everyone else had to pay. I bought myself a beef pie and a packet of crisps.


As promised, the train arrived at Sydney Station 1 hour later. I disembarked and headed straight to UTS, ready to start another day at university.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Here's to everything I thought I knew...

Here are 10 helpful tips for your study abroad experience. 1. Find the currency exchangers who advertise “No Fees”. 2. Purchase Visas more than 2 weeks in advance, regardless of how fast the websi

bottom of page