top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaihehau Goo

The Melbourne Grand Prix

Sometimes chaos is beautiful, but sometimes it’s just chaos.


As the traditional start of the Formula 1 Season, Melbourne’s GP is one of the most highly anticipated F1 races of the year. Though the season opener has started to occur in Qatar and Saudi Arabia, the Melbourne GP still remains special to fans everywhere.

It is still affordable. Tickets for Four-Day General Admission are $170 USD, less than half the cost of equivalent tickets in Las Vegas, Miami, or Austin. As a result, the 2023 Melbourne GP is a popular event for Australians and traveling fans. Melbourne’s 2023 Grand Prix is currently the most highly attended F1 race in history, narrowly beating the Austin GP.


The Melbourne GP was my first Formula 1 Race. It was equally amazing and deafening. For three days the Melbourne Streets hosted the best race in the world. I consider myself lucky to have seen it in person. On Friday temperatures dropped to 50 degrees Fahrenheit and torrential rain created chaos for Formula 2 and 3 cars on the track. Saturday’s weather was marginally better, just in time for the Formula 1 drivers to begin

practice runs and set qualifying times.


When I awoke on Sunday the sky was clear. So with hope in my heart, and a poncho in my pocket, I headed to the Melbourne Grand Prix. My friends and I enjoyed an eventful morning, trading jokes about the coming race and wondering who would win.


For anyone with questions about the actual race or events occurring around the Grand Prix, feel free to click the contact links on the left side of your screen!



7 views0 comments
bottom of page